An Apology

I made a statement in an NTSB board meeting this week that offended many. Through this message, I hope to convey my sincerest apologies.

The board meeting was to deliberate on the January 12, 2015, accident involving Washington, DC’s Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) subway system. That accident claimed one life and sent many others to local hospitals.

In my remarks, I noted that the NTSB’s investigation of this tragedy found similarities to a WMATA accident that occurred 33 years earlier. Most surprising to me was that WMATA also failed to do a debriefing after the 2015 accident – something I felt was a lost learning opportunity for them. I then stated: “To me, these things show that WMATA has had a severe learning disability. Quite simply, they haven’t been willing to learn from prior events.” I then quoted Peter Senge, author of a book on organizational learning: “Learning disabilities are tragic in children, but they are fatal in organizations.”

While I don’t mind taking organizations such as WMATA to task for their failings and oversights, I never intended to offend anyone with learning disabilities or their families. Looking back on it, it’s now clear to me how my words were offensive. I therefore want to offer my sincerest apology.

Although I was quoting from a book, the words came out of my mouth and I take full responsibility for what I said. The emphasis of the statement was intended to be on the fact that WMATA failed to learn. However, tying that point to children with learning disabilities was wholly insensitive on my part. Clearly, I could have made the point without referring to learning disabilities at all.

As much as I regret the offense I caused to many, I also regret that my comments may reflect poorly on the agency that I represent.

As a government official who often makes public comments, I try to carefully choose my words; this time I failed. I endeavor not to make the same mistake I asserted WMATA was guilty of – failing to learn. I pledge to use this as a powerful learning opportunity.

Robert L. Sumwalt

NTSB Member

Leave a Reply

